The Secrets of Upanishads (11 principal Upanishads)

By Jay Damodar Das

Certificate Course

Enroll Now

Course Duration

60 Hours


02 Hours each

No. Of Sessions


Sessions per week




Open for all.

Schedule of Classes


Starts on


07:00 pm to 09:00 pm IST

Regular classes on

Tue, Thu & Sat

About the Teacher


Jay Damodar Das

Born in a Brahmin family and raised in a very religious and pious household, His Grace Jay Damodar Das is a preacher and a teacher and is especially known for his narrations of Mahabharata. He has delivered extensive public lectures and seminars on varied sastras like Ramayana, Mahabharata, Srimad Bhagavatam, Brihad Bhagavatamrita, Laghu Bhagavatamrita, Bhagavad Gita, Upanisads, Vedanta Sutras, and Vaisnava epistemology (pramana tattva) and ontology (prameya tattva).

He did his bachelors in mechanical engineering. Thereafter he worked with several companies for 12 years.

During the first year of his college, he had a good fortune of coming in association of devotees at ISKCON. He received his first initiation in the year 1999, second initiation in the year 2013, and thus has been practicing Krishna consciousness under the guidance of his spiritual master, His Holiness Bhakti Vikas Swami, for the last 25 years.

He has dedicated his life to spread the message of Krishna consciousness with his deep understanding of the essence of all Vedic knowledge, the Bhagavata philosophy.

Course Overview

Course Description:
Upanisads are the crown jewel of the Vedas. Those scriptures which help the practitioner achieve liberation and bring the person close to the Lord are called Upanisad. Upa means "near" and nisīdati means "bring." Or the word may be divided as upa meaning "near," with ni meaning "certainly" and sad meaning "to loosen, destroy or attain." That knowledge which loosens bondage with certainty, destroys the ignorance concerning the jīva's svarūpa and brings one close to the Lord is called Upanisad. Upanisad is called brahma-vidyā and rahasya-vidyā, secret knowledge, imparted by the guru to the disciple, who realizes it in his heart. 

Course Content:
Overview of 11 principal Upanishads: Isa, Kena, Katha, Prasna, Mundaka, Mandukya, Aitareya, Taittiriya, Chandogya, Brihad Aranyaka, and Svetasvatara.

Course Material: Class Notes

Target Audience: Those interested in brahma-vidya

Assessment Plan: Online test having MCQs at the end of the course.

Course Requirement: None

Important Guidelines for the Students: None

What will students gain from this course?
1. Students will be able to appreciate how deep and scientific the Upanishads are.
2. They will be inspired/encouraged to take spiritual life seriously.
3. They will gain knowledge about God, spirit, and matter.
4. Students will become wiser and more intelligent.
5. They will understand the importance of human form of life and the benefits thereof.

Why should one attend this course?
Upanishads mark the beginning of spiritual life.

What problems of the students are we solving through the course?
People in general are absorbed in materialism and live like animals. By attending this course, they will understand the value of human life and their interest in spiritul life will be kindled.

Course Content

Frequently Asked Questions

Related Content