Overview of Uddhava Gita

By Jay Damodar Das

Certificate Course

Enroll Now

Course Duration

30 Hours


90 minutes each

No. Of Sessions


Sessions per week




Good understanding of Bhagavad Gita

Schedule of Classes


Starts on


07:00 am to 08:30 am IST

Regular classes on

Tue, Thu & Sat

About the Teacher


Jay Damodar Das

Born in a Brahmin family and raised in a very religious and pious household, His Grace Jay Damodar Das is a preacher and a teacher and is especially known for his narrations of Mahabharata. He has delivered extensive public lectures and seminars on varied sastras like Ramayana, Mahabharata, Srimad Bhagavatam, Brihad Bhagavatamrita, Laghu Bhagavatamrita, Bhagavad Gita, Upanisads, Vedanta Sutras, and Vaisnava epistemology (pramana tattva) and ontology (prameya tattva).

He did his bachelors in mechanical engineering. Thereafter he worked with several companies for 12 years.

During the first year of his college, he had a good fortune of coming in association of devotees at ISKCON. He received his first initiation in the year 1999, second initiation in the year 2013, and thus has been practicing Krishna consciousness under the guidance of his spiritual master, His Holiness Bhakti Vikas Swami, for the last 25 years.

He has dedicated his life to spread the message of Krishna consciousness with his deep understanding of the essence of all Vedic knowledge, the Bhagavata philosophy.

Course Overview

Course Description:

Uddhava Gita, which covers the major part of 11th canto of Srimad Bhagavatam, is considered the sequel of Bhagavad Gita. It is called Uddhava Gita because it was sung by Sri Krishna to Sri Uddhava just before the Lord’s disappearance from this world. Topics spoken by Sri Krishna in Bhagavad Gita are dealt with in more detail here.

Course Contents:

There are, in total, 23 chapters:

  1. Lord Krishna Instructs Uddhav
  2. The Story of Pingala
  3. Detachment from All that Is Material
  4. The Nature of Fruitive Activities
  5. The Symptoms of Conditioned and Liberated Living Entities
  6. Beyond Renunciation and Knowledge
  7. The Hamsa-avatara Answers the Questions of the Sons of Brahma
  8. Lord Krishna Explains the Yoga System to Sri Uddhava
  9. Lord Krishna’s Description of Mystic Yoga Perfections
  10. The Lord’s Opulence
  11. Lord Krishna’s Description of the Varnasrama System
  12. Description of Varnasrama-dharma
  13. The Perfection of Spiritual Knowledge
  14. Pure Devotional Service Surpasses Knowledge and Detachment
  15. Lord Krishna’s Explanation of the Vedic Path
  16. Enumeration of the Elements of Material Creation
  17. The Song of the Avanti Brahmana
  18. The Philosophy of Sankhya
  19. The Three Modes of Nature and Beyond
  20. The Aila-gita
  21. Lord Krishna’s Instructions on the Process of Deity Worship
  22. Jnana-yoga and
  23. Bhakti-yoga

Target Audience: Open for all.

Assessment Plan: An MCQ test at the end of the course.

Course Requirement: Some understanding of Bhagavad Gita.

Course Content

Frequently Asked Questions

Related Content