Bhagavata Cosmology Vedic Alternative to Modern Astronomy


Certificate Course

Enroll Now

Course Duration

15 Hours


90 Minutes

No. Of Sessions


Sessions per week

At your own pace




Schedule of Classes


Starts on


Always Open

At your own pace

About the Teacher



ISKCON Bhagavat Mahavidyalaya aims to provide a facility for its members to study, practice, and disseminate the teachings of Srimad Bhagavatam, along with the writings of the Gaudiya Vaisnava acaryas and the branches of Vedic philosophy, culture, music and science in the context of Srila Prabhupada’s teachings.

ISKCON Bhagavat Mahavidyalaya has been inspired by the service and efforts of His Grace Gopiparanadhana Prabhu and His Holiness Gaur Krishna Gosvami Maharaja. Their dedication toward the study and the dissemination of the teachings of Srimad Bhagavatam is the torchlight guiding us forward to serve this mission.

Course Overview

Course Description:

This comprehensive self-study course offers an in-depth exploration of Vedic cosmology, shedding light on both the horizontal and vertical structure of the universe, the movement of celestial bodies, and the intriguing Vedic perspectives on the cosmos. Discover the rich tapestry of knowledge drawn from ancient texts and philosophical insights.

Course Contents:

Module 1: Bhū-maṇḍala - Horizontal Structure of the Universe

  • Delve into the intriguing account of Priyavrata Maharaja as he divides the Bhū-maṇḍala into 7-Islands and 7-Oceans.
  • Explore the geography of Jambudvīpa and Bhārata-varṣa.
  • Gain a deeper understanding of the remaining six islands, Mānasottara Mountain, and Lokaloka Mountain, as described in Srimad Bhagavatam (SB 5.1, 16-20).

Module 2: Insights from Srila Vādiraja Tirtā’s "Bhūgola Varnanam"

  • Examine the divisions and shape of the Bhū-maṇḍala.
  • Investigate the Vedic perspectives on the Earth's position and shape.
  • Understand the Vedic wisdom concerning stars and stellar distances.
  • Learn why we are not able to see the rest of the universe according to Vedic knowledge.

Module 3: Fourteen Planetary Systems - ‘Vertical Structure of the Universe’

  • Explore detailed descriptions of the Sun, Moon, and other planets (Nava-grahas).
  • Study the distances between Earth, Sun, and Moon, and the inherent natures of these celestial bodies.
  • Compare and contrast Vedic and modern understandings of Moon landings.
  • Delve into the intricacies of upper planetary systems, Outerspace (Bhuvar-loka), and lower planetary systems (Bila-svarga).
  • Explore the descriptions of Lord Sesa and Hellish Planets (SB 5.21-26).

Module 4: The Movement of the Planets – "Vedic Planetarium: Geocentric Model of SB"

  • Analyze the contrast between a spinning Earth and a fast-moving Sun.
  • Examine the concept of gravitational force versus the control of the Pole star.
  • Unpack the four principal phenomena as suggested by Srila Prabhupada: Formation of Day and Night, Change of the Moon Phases, Uttarayana and Daksinayana movements of the Sun and Moon, and the Science of Eclipses (SB 5.21-24).

This self-study course is designed to provide comprehensive knowledge. It is open to all individuals curious about the ancient wisdom of Vedic cosmology. This long and immersive journey into the depths of the cosmos is accessible to anyone interested in expanding their understanding of the universe.

Course Content

Frequently Asked Questions

Related Content